African Minerals and Geosciences Centre
Minerals For Development

News & Updates

  • fr-FR
  • English (UK)
The United Republic of Tanzania is located in eastern Africa, bordering the Indian Ocean, between Kenya and Mozambique. Tanzania has a total area of 945,087 sq km with a population of 36,766,356 (July 2005 est.) Borderring countries are Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda and Zambia. Tanzania has also a coastline of 1,424 km. The climate varies from tropical along coast to temperate in highlands. Tanzanian terrain also varies between plains along coast; central plateau; and highlands in north and south with elevation of 0 m along Indian Ocean coastline to the highest point in Africa, the Kilimanjaro mountain, 5,895 m. Dodoma is the Capital City of the country and the seat of the Parliament, and Dar es Salaam is the commercial capital and largest city. The natural resources of Tanzania include: hydro-power, tin, phosphates, iron ore, coal, diamonds, gemstones, gold, natural gas, nickel

Geosciences Updates

Join our monthly Newsletter

Learn about new services, custom picked just for you

Join our Mailshot

Notification for new services, events and promotions.

Contact Us

African Minerals and Geosciences Centre (AMGC)
P.O.Box 9573, Kunduchi Beach Area, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Office Tel: +255222650347 Fax: (255 22) 2650319
Business Hours: 8AM–4PM Monday - Friday.